Indianapolis City Guide
Indianapolis Travel
» Indianapolis City Guide
Indianapolis Restaurants
Indianapolis Hotels
Indianapolis Used Cars
Indianapolis Car Dealerships
Indianapolis Real Estate
Indianapolis Travel Information
Indianapolis Golf Courses
Indianapolis Sports Teams
Indianapolis Jobs
Indianapolis facts
Things to do in Indianapolis
Payday Loans Indianapolis
» Indianapolis Sports Teams

Indianapolis Sports

Indianapolis is a city full of thrills for the sports fan. The Indianapolis 500 and Brickyard 400 attract thousands of visitors to the city. The city is also known as “Amateur Sports Capital of the World”. The Indianapolis Motor Speedway is also located just a few miles west of downtown. The city has long been associated for hosting many major national and international sporting events.

Indianapolis houses the headquarters of the NCAA (National Collegiate Athletic Association) and has hosted the men's and women's NCAA Final Four many times. You can always find a sporting event within the city including baseball, football, basketball, and much more. You should never miss the fun of live sporting event in Indianapolis, Indiana. Some of the best teams in the Indianapolis are listed below:-

1. Indianapolis Colts

2. Indianapolis Pacers

2. Indianapolis Indians

  • Indianapolis Colts

    A professional football team, Indianapolis Colts is based in Indianapolis, Indiana. The team was established in 1953 and their official mascot’s name is blue. The Colts were the first NFL team to have cheerleaders. The team started as the Baltimore Colts in 1953 and relocated to Indianapolis in 1984. Indianapolis Colts has been owned by CEO James Irsay and his family since 1972.

    In 1958, the Colts defeated the New York Giants at Yankee Stadium 23-17 in the NFL championship game. Again in 1959, the Colts defeated the Giants in the NFL championship game. In 1968, the Colts defeated the Browns 34-0 in the NFL championship game. The helmet of the team is white with a speed blue horseshoe logo.

    Throughout their history, the Indianapolis Colts have won five league championships, six conference championships and eleven division championships. Tony Dungy is the current head coach of the team. Indianapolis Colts are the 2006 champions of the American Football Conference (AFC) as well as the National Football League (NFL). The team plays their home games at RCA Dome, a domed stadium located in Indianapolis, Indiana. Indianapolis Colts colors are dark blue and white.

  • Indianapolis Pacers
    A professional basketball team, Indiana Pacers is based in Indianapolis, Indiana. The team was established in 1967 and currently is a member of the Central Division of the Eastern Conference in the National Basketball Association (NBA). Rick Carlisle is the current head coach of the team. The team plays their home games at Conseco Fieldhouse, a sports arena in Indianapolis, Indiana.

    The team played at Indiana State Fairgrounds Coliseum for the first six years. In 1974, the Pacers shifted to the plush new Market Square Arena where they played for 25 years. Finally in 1999, the Pacers moved to their current arena, Conseco Fieldhouse. The team won three ABA Championships (1970, 1972, and 1973). In 1976, the ABA folded and Pacers were invited to join the NBA in the 1976-77 season.

    The Pacers ended their first NBA season with a record of 36-46. In 1980-81, the Pacers appeared in the NBA Playoffs for the first time but falling in the opening round to the Philadelphia 76ers and this was their only playoff appearance from 1977 to 1987. In 1990-91, the Indiana Pacers returned to the playoffs with a 41-41 record, but lost to the New York Knicks in the first round. Throughout their history, the Indianapolis Pacers have won three ABA Championships, six Conference titles and seven Division titles.

  • Indianapolis Indians
    A minor league baseball team, Indianapolis Indians is based in Indianapolis, Indiana. The team was established in 1902 and is a member of the West Division in the International League. The team plays their home games at Victory Field in Indianapolis, Indiana. The Indianapolis, Indiana is the AAA affiliate of the Pittsburgh Pirates, a major league baseball club based in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania.

    Indianapolis City Guide

    The Indianapolis Indians acquired three straight pennants from 1961-63, including the International League championship in 1963. From 1984 to 1992, the Indians won four division title and also four straight playoff championships (1986-1989). The Indians have won the Governors' Cup, two times (1963, 2000), and appeared in the championship series three times. The team’s colors are: red, and black.

Home About us Advertise Sitemap Contact us E-mail

Warning: require(): http:// wrapper is disabled in the server configuration by allow_url_include=0 in /home/indianap/public_html/footer-network.php on line 7

Warning: require( failed to open stream: no suitable wrapper could be found in /home/indianap/public_html/footer-network.php on line 7

Fatal error: require(): Failed opening required '' (include_path='.:/usr/lib/php:/usr/local/lib/php') in /home/indianap/public_html/footer-network.php on line 7